City of San Antonio

San Antonio has a Council-Manager form of city government. The city council is composed of 10 members elected by districts and a mayor elected at-large. All serve two-year terms with a two term limit. The council sets policies and the city manager is the city’s chief executive officer. For more information, visit

Mayor of San Antonio

Ivy Taylor
P.O. Box 839966
San Antonio, TX 78283
210.207.7060 / 7107

Ivy R. Taylor was elected Mayor of San Antonio on June 13, 2015. Before then, she had been appointed to serve as Mayor on July 22, 2014 by the San Antonio City Council to fulfill the unexpired term of Julian Castro. Prior to her appointment, Mayor Taylor served as the District 2 City Council Representative. Ivy R. Taylor was elected to serve as the District 2 Representative on June 13, 2009 and served two and a half terms for a total of five years. Mayor Taylor began her career working for the City of San Antonio in the Housing and Community Development Department and the Neighborhood Action Department. While at the City, she worked with a variety of neighborhood associations, developers and nonprofit organizations in order to facilitate inner city redevelopment.

City Manager

Sheryl Sculley
P.O. Box 839966
San Antonio, TX 78283

Sheryl Sculley became San Antonio’s City Manager in 2005 with 31 years of experience in local government. As the City’s chief executive officer, she manages a full-service municipal government corporation as directed by policies of the City Council. She oversees an annual operating and capital budget of $2.4 billion that serves a community of 1.4 million residents and 467 square miles. Ms. Sculley supervises the activities of all City departments that include 12,000 employees.

City of San Antonio Council – Members

  • District 1 – Roberto C. Treviño
  • District 2 – Alan E. Warrick, II
  • District 3 – Rebecca J. Viagran
  • District 4 – Rey Saldaña
  • District 5 – Shirley Gonzales
  • District 6 – Ray Lopez
  • District 7 – Cris Medina
  • District 8 – Ron Nirenberg
  • District 9 – Joe Krier
  • District 10 – Mike Gallagher

Bexar County

Bexar County’s legislative body is a commissioners court composed of the county judge, elected at-large, and four commissioners, elected by precincts. The judge is equivalent to a county commissioner chair. Terms are for a four-year period. For more information, visit

Bexar County Judge

Judge Nelson Wolff
Bexar County
Paul Elizondo Tower
Commissioners Court, 10th Floor
101 W. Nueva
San Antonio, TX 78205

Nelson Wolff was appointed Bexar County Judge in 2001 and was elected to the office by the voters of Bexar County in November 2002, 2006, 2010 and 2014. With his colleagues on the Commissioners Court and at the City, he has worked to promote greater economic development in Bexar County, including the successful efforts to lure Toyota Motor Manufacturing, Sino Swearingen Aircraft and other major businesses to locate here. Wolff served in the State House of Representatives and the Texas Senate from 1970 to 1974. In 1987, Wolff was elected to the San Antonio City Council, and after two terms was twice elected mayor, 1991 – 1995.

Bexar County Commissioner’s Court

  • Precinct 1 – Sergio “Chico” Rodriguez
  • Precinct 2 – Paul Elizondo
  • Precinct 3 – Kevin Wolff
  • Precinct 4 – Tommy Calvert, Jr.

Bexar County Manager

David L. Smith
Office of the County Manager
Paul Elizondo Tower
101 W. Nueva, 10th Floor
San Antonio, Texas 78205

Assistance for New or Expanding Industries

The San Antonio Economic Development Foundation works with the Economic Development Departments of the City of San Antonio and Bexar County. Each government entity is responsible for the economic development activities through policy implementation, strategic planning, and partnerships with key organizations.

The San Antonio Economic Development Foundation will work with private and public partnerships to ensure that San Antonio can provide the necessary resources for a high quality, high-investment company to relocate to the Alamo City. Company officials can benefit from the access to San Antonio’s well-known and highly regarded collaborative spirit.

City of San Antonio International & Economic Development Department

Rene Dominguez, Director:

Bexar County Economic Development Department

David Marquez, Executive Director:

City Tax Supported Bond Ratings

The financial position of the City of San Antonio has been rated ‘AAA’ for its general obligation bonds by three national rating services. The ‘AAA’ bond rating is the highest possible rating a city can receive and was reaffirmed for San Antonio by Fitch, Moody’s and Standard & Poor’s. Of the top ten largest cities in the United States, San Antonio is one of only two cities that have a ‘AAA’ rating and the only city to have a ‘AAA’ rating from all three major rating agencies. These high marks were attributed to the city’s favorable economic activity, diversification, and solid financial position.

Fitch Ratings — AAA
Moody’s Investors Service — AAA
Standard & Poor’s Ratings Group — AAA

City Departments

Office of Emergency Management

The mission of the City of San Antonio Office of Emergency Management is to coordinate the activities of the city departments responsible for continued operations during disasters, coordinate agreements for the use of resources, communicate with State and Federal agencies, and provide education and training to citizens and municipal employees. For more information, click here.

San Antonio Fire Department

The San Antonio Fire Department has over 1,100 firefighters, 51 fire stations, and 33 full-time medic units staffed by 371 certified paramedics. The city’s fire department is responsible for areas within the corporate city limits and the industrial districts on a contractual basis. Protection outside corporate city limits is provided by Bexar County or by city firefighters when a written agreement has been entered into with the city. For more information, click here.

San Antonio Police Department

The number of sworn officers on the police force is 2,119 (as of Jan. 2010). Patrol service is provided to all areas within the city limits; neighborhood incorporated municipalities and the county sheriff’s office patrol areas outside the city. The average response time is 5.36 minutes for an emergency call and 18.5 minutes for a non-emergency call. For more information, click here.

State & Federal Representatives

San Antonio’s national congressional districts and representatives in Congress, as well as the Texas Governor, are:

State Governor Senate House of Representatives
Greg Abbott (R) John Cornyn (R)
Ted Cruz (R)
Texas District 20: Joaquín Castro (D)
Texas District 21: Lamar Smith (R)
Texas District 23: Will Hurd (R)
Texas District 28: Henry Cuellar (D)
Texas District 35: Lloyd Doggett (D)

Texas State Senators

  • Senator Carlos I. Uresti
    Senate District 19
  • Senator Judith Zaffirini
    Senate District 21
  • Senator Donna Campbell
    Senate District 25
  • Senator Jose Menendez
    Senate District 26

Texas State Representatives

  • Representative Andrew S. Murr
    House District 53
  • Representative Doug Miller
    House District 73
  • Representative Trey Martinez Fischer
    House District 116
  • Representative Rick Galindo
    House District 117
  • Representative John Lujan
    House District 118
  • Representative Roland Gutierrez
    House District 119
  • Representative Ruth Jones McClendon
    House District 120
  • Speaker of the House Representative Joe Straus
    House District 121
  • Representative Lyle Larson
    House District 122
  • Representative Diego Bernal
    House District 123
  • Representative Ina Minjarez
    House District 124
  • Representative Justin Rodriguez
    House District 125

Texas State Board of Education Members

  • Ms. Martha M. Dominguez
    SBOE District 1
  • Ms. Marisa B. Perez
    SBOE District 3
  • Mr. Ken Mercer
    SBOE District 5