Prev Texas A&M University San Antonio Next


Texas A&M University San Antonio

Texas A&M University-San Antonio was created to address an educational need in south San Antonio. The Texas Legislature asked The Texas A&M University System to establish a center that would offer junior- and senior-level courses in south San Antonio. The University, then known as Texas A&M University-Kingsville System Center- San Antonio, was approved by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board in January 2000. On May 23, 2009, Gov. Rick Perry signed Senate Bill 629 that created Texas A&M-San Antonio as a stand-alone university. The university offers more than 50 undergraduate degrees and eight graduate degrees to the 2,343 students enrolled in the fall of 2009. For more information, visit