Prev St. Mary’s University Next


St. Mary’s University

St. Mary’s University, founded in 1852, is the oldest university in San Antonio, and the oldest and largest Catholic university in the southwest U.S. The university is nationally recognized among the top universities in the west in U.S. News & World Report’s “America's’ Best Colleges” annual survey, Kaplan/Newsweek College Guide, and the Templeton Foundation. St. Mary’s 192 full-time faculty members, 94 percent of whom hold doctoral or terminal degrees in their fields, are committed to student success in and out of the classroom. St. Mary’s has approximately 70 undergraduate and graduate majors and offers more than 120 degree programs, which include two doctoral and two law programs, and 12 undergraduate and 10 graduate joint programs. The student/faculty ratio of 13:1 permits small classes and promotes active learning. St. Mary’s undergraduates benefit from being part of a technology-enhanced learning community. All students attending St. Mary’s are required to have notebook computers that meet the school’s hardware and software requirements. St. Mary’s scenic 135-acre campus is home to five schools: the Bill Greehey School of Business; the School of Science, Engineering and Technology; the School of Humanities and Social Sciences; the Graduate School; and the School of Law, which is the only Catholic law school in Texas. The Greehey School of Business was listed in the 2007 edition of The Princeton Review’s “Best Business Schools,” and St. Mary’s was recognized in 2008 by Entrepreneur magazine as a top choice for the undergraduate study of entrepreneurship. For more information, visit