Manufacturing

San Antonio has a large and diverse manufacturing industry, with a representation of every major sector of U.S. manufacturing present in the community, including materials and electricity, equipment and metal, transportation, and diversified products. According to the 2011 Texas Manufacturers Register, San Antonio ranked the fourth-largest manufacturing market in Texas, with 51,177 jobs. A 2011 impact study conducted by Trinity University indicated that San Antonio's manufacturing industry had an economic impact of $22.5 billion and paid 11% above the average annual salary for all workers in San Antonio.

Manufacturing Jobs in San Antonio MSA

Name2011 Jobs2012 JobsChange% Change
Team assemblers 3,720 4,380 660 17.7%
First-line supervisors/managers of production and operating workers 2,590 2,910 320 12.4%
Inspectors, testers, sorters, samplers, and weighers 2,370 2,480 110 4.6%
Sales Representatives, Wholesale & Manufacturing 1,270 1,340 70 5.5%
Welders, cutters, solderers, and brazers 2,010 2,010 0 0%
Machinists 1,170 1,550 380 32.5%
Source: Bureau of Labor Statistics

Wages

Job titleAverage Hourly Wage
Operations Manager $42.19
Sales Manager - Regional $42.47
Production Worker $10.58
Quality Control Inspector  $15.14
Test Technician  $17.77
Source: 2013 Werling Associates Inc.

Major Manufacturing Companies in San Antonio MSA:

Arlon http://arlon.com/default.aspx
Caterpillar http://www.caterpillar.com/
Chromalloy http://chromalloy.com/
CMC Steel Texas http://www.cmc.com/cmcsteeltexas/Default.aspx
Cox Manufacturing http://www.coxmanufacturing.com/
DPT Laboratories ttp://www.dptlabs.com
EOG Resources http://www.eogresources.com/home/index.html
Frito-Lay, Inc http://www.fritolay.com/index.html
Gore Design http://goredesign.com/
H-E-B Grocery http://www.heb.com/home/home.jsp
Hill Country Bakery http://www.hillcountrybakery.com/
Johnson Controls, Inc. http://www.johnsoncontrols.com/publish/us/en.html
Kinetic Concepts, Inc. http://www.kci1.com/KCI1/home
KLN Steel Products Company http://www.kln.com/
L & H Packing Company http://lhpacking.com/
Lancer Corporation http://www.lancercorp.com/
Lockheed Martin http://www.lockheedmartin.com/
M2 Global Technology, LTD. http://www.m2global.com/
Martin Marietta Materials http://www.martinmarietta.com/Products/division_Southwest.asp
Maxim http://www.maxim-ic.com/company/locations/texas/san-antonio.cfm
Mission Pharmacal Corporation http://www.missionpharmacal.com/
Monterrey Iron & Metal http://www.monterreyiron.com/
Oak Farms http://www.oakfarmsdairy.com/Default.aspx
Pratt & Whitney http://www.pratt-whitney.com/
San Antonio Shoemakers (SAS) http://sasshoes.com/
Standard Aero http://standardaero.com/
Steelhead, Inc. http://www.steelheadinc.com/
Sterling Foods http://www.sterlingfoodsusa.com/
Tenneco, Inc. http://www.tenneco.com/
The Boeing Company http://www.boeing.com/
Toyota Motor Manufacturing http://www.toyotatexas.com/
Tyson Foods, Inc. http://www.tyson.com/
Valero Energy Corporation http://www.valero.com
Vulcan Materials Company http://www.vulcanmaterials.com/