Local Government

City of San Antonio
San Antonio has a Council-Manager form of city government. The city council is composed of 10 members elected by districts and a mayor elected at-large. All serve two-year terms with a two-term limit. The council sets policies and the city manager is the city’s chief executive officer. For more information, visit

Mayor of San Antonio
Ron Nirenberg
P.O. Box 839966
San Antonio, TX 78283
210.207.7060 / 7107

Mayor Ron Nirenberg was elected Mayor of San Antonio in June 2017 and elected to a second term in June 2019. Prior to his election, he served San Antonio's District 8 City Council from 2013 to 2017. During his tenure, Mayor Nirenberg has focused on improving transportation infrastructure, ensuring the city’s sustainability through environmental and economic initiatives, embracing new technology, closing the workforce skills gap and creating jobs.

City Manager
Erik Walsh
P.O. Box 839966
San Antonio, TX 78283

Walsh was appointed City Manager by Mayor Ron Nirenberg and the City Council on Jan. 31, 2019 and assumed the position effective March 1, 2019. As the chief executive officer of the municipal corporation, Walsh oversees 13,000 employees, manages an annual operating and capital budget of $2.8 billion and serves 1.5 million residents. Walsh’s 24-year career with the City of San Antonio includes extensive operations management, organizational development, budget, fiscal policy, and contract management experience. He began his career with the City as a budget analyst.

City of San Antonio Council – Members

  • District 1 – Roberto C. Treviño
  • District 2 – Jada Andrews-Sullivan
  • District 3 – Rebecca J. Viagran
  • District 4 – Dr. Adriana Rocha Garcia
  • District 5 – Shirley Gonzales
  • District 6 – Melissa Cabello Havrda
  • District 7 – Ana Sandoval
  • District 8 – Manny Peláez
  • District 9 – John Courage
  • District 10 – Clayton Perry

Bexar County
Bexar County’s legislative body is a commissioners court composed of the county judge, elected at-large, and four commissioners, elected by precincts. The judge is equivalent to a county commissioner chair. Terms are for a four-year period. For more information, visit

Bexar County Judge
Judge Nelson Wolff
Bexar County
Paul Elizondo Tower
Commissioners Court, 10th Floor
101 W. Nueva
San Antonio, TX 78205

Nelson Wolff was appointed Bexar County Judge in 2001 and was elected to the office by the voters of Bexar County in November 2002, 2006, 2010 and 2014. With his colleagues on the Commissioners Court and at the City, he has worked to promote greater economic development in Bexar County, including the successful efforts to lure Toyota Motor Manufacturing, Sino Swearingen Aircraft and other major businesses to locate here. Wolff served in the State House of Representatives and the Texas Senate from 1970 to 1974. In 1987, Wolff was elected to the San Antonio City Council, and after two terms was twice elected mayor, 1991 – 1995.

Bexar County Commissioner’s Court

  • Precinct 1 – Sergio “Chico” Rodriguez
  • Precinct 2 – Justin Rodriguez
  • Precinct 3 – Kevin Wolff
  • Precinct 4 – Tommy Calvert, Jr.

Bexar County Manager
David L. Smith

Office of the County Manager
Paul Elizondo Tower
101 W. Nueva, 10th Floor
San Antonio, Texas 78205

Assistance for New or Expanding Industries
The San Antonio Economic Development Foundation works with the Economic Development Departments of the City of San Antonio and Bexar County. Each government entity is responsible for economic development activities through policy implementation, strategic planning, and partnerships with key organizations.

The San Antonio Economic Development Foundation will work with private and public entities to ensure that San Antonio can provide the necessary resources for high quality, high-investment company to relocate to the Alamo City. Company officials can benefit from access to San Antonio’s well-known and highly regarded collaborative spirit.

City Tax Supported Bond Ratings
The financial position of the City of San Antonio has been rated ‘AAA’ for its general obligation bonds by two of three national rating services. The ‘AAA’ bond rating is the highest possible rating a city can receive. Of the top ten largest cities in the United States, San Antonio is one of only two cities that have a ‘AAA’ rating. These high marks were attributed to the city’s favorable economic activity, diversification, and solid financial position.

Fitch Ratings — AA+ 
Moody’s Investors Service — AAA
Standard & Poor’s Ratings Group — AAA